The Holmes County Election Commission is made up of 5 commissioners, one representing each of the 5 supervisor districts. The members of the Election Commission are responsible for conducting all general and special elections in Holmes County. When contracted, the Election Commission assists the Republican and Democratic parties with the primary elections. The Election Commission is responsible for ensuring that all elections are conducted fairly, honestly and legally in all areas of the laws of Mississippi. They work as a team to ensure the voter rolls for Holmes County are as clean as possible by removing those voters who have moved or passed away. Members of the Election Commission are elected officials that serve a four year term and there are no limitations to the number of consecutive terms that can be served. Commissioners must be qualified electors in Holmes County and a resident of the Supervisor District in which they are a candidate. Commissioners are mandatorily required to attend annual Certification Training conducted by the Mississippi Secretary of State’s Office, to be certified to conduct elections.

holmes county msHolmes County Election Commissioners:

District 1:  Elnora Patton 
District 2:  Loretta Tidwell 
District 3:  Henry Simpson 
District 4:  Augustine Winstead
District 5:  Kahaliah Hogan-Cook

Duties of the Election Commission

  • Building the database in Statewide Elections Management System.
  • Hiring and training Poll Managers.
  • Preparing and printing ballots, and securing all election supplies.
  • Downloading the Election Database in Global Elections Management System.
  • Burning memory cards for the election.
  • Testing and preparing voting machines and ballot encoders for the election, and preparing poll books.
  • Compiling precinct results on Election Day, certifying election results, and providing election data to the public.

If you or a family member have moved or passed away, please notify the election commissioners to assist in updating the voter rolls. You can reach the election commissioners at 662-834-5028 or 662-834-2476.

If you are interested in obtaining a better understanding of the election process or becoming a poll worker, please call the election commissioners at 662-834-5028 or 662-834-2476.

Interested candidates for Election Commissioner may contact the Circuit Clerk’s office for information.

Voter Information

Voters must register at least 30 days prior to the election.

For your vote to count, you must be registered in Holmes County and you should vote at the precinct where you live. If you have moved from one location to another in Holmes County, but have not changed your address with the Circuit Clerk, you should still go to the precinct for the area in which you live. Your name will not be on the Poll Book at that location but you should vote by affidavit. After the polls close, all affidavits are reviewed by the Election Commission. Once your name is found on the Holmes County voter rolls, the Election Commissioners will then verify your information. Once your information is found to be valid, your vote will be counted and your information will be updated in the system. If you are unsure as to which precinct you should be voting in call the Circuit Clerk.  For Information on Poll Workers or Candidacy Information contact the Circuit Clerk’s Office:

Earline Wright-Hart
Circuit Clerk

22549 Depot Street
PO Box 718
Lexington MS 39095

Office: 662-834-2476
Fax: 662-834-3870 

Absentee ballots should be available 45 days prior to the election.