Circuit Court

Circuit Courts hear felony criminal prosecutions and civil lawsuits. Circuit Courts hear appeals from County, Justice and Municipal courts and from administrative boards and commissions such as the Workers’ Compensation Commission and the Mississippi Department of Employment Security.

Circuit Court judges are selected in non-partisan elections to serve four-year terms.

Trials are heard with a 12-member jury and usually one or two alternate jurors. A judge may preside without a jury if the dispute is a question of law rather than fact.

21st District
Jannie M. Lewis, Circuit Court Judge Holmes County Circuit
Holmes County Circuit Court Complex

22549 Depot Street
P. O. Box 149
Lexington, MS  39095
Ph:  (662) 834-1452
Fx:  (662) 834-1481